No News = Good News

"Breaking Storm" - spring weather often fluctuates between sunshine and skies filled from one horizon to another with thick rainclouds in only a matter of a couple hours

The primary success of my trip last night was not throwing any personal belongings under the glacier (not even a bubble level or anything). The hike/bike ride was physically exhausting (good exercise), and weather kept the photography from playing out how I had envisioned. I shouldn’t complain though. It’s a blessing to be able to make a glacier run after a full workday. It’s a blessing to be able to make glacier runs at all. As I ventured out onto the ice, I tried to envision what the glacier trekking excursions of the summer tourist season might play out like. At this point, there is precious little room to move around without employing at least limited climbing techniques and fair amount of confidence (foolishness). As the Mendenhall continues to change, there’s no doubt that access will grow increasingly more difficult. Get it while it lasts, I say.

