Late Night…

I should be asleep…but instead I was looking back through the summer’s images for a memory or a message. I came across this photo that I had already designated for monochrome presentation during an earlier editing process, and the dramatic variation in the tonalities of the sky struck me anew. There was something about the sky on that night that made me view it as a “landscape” full of infinite possibility and incredible complexity. The veiled mountains and dark water were only barely necessary to provide a base or frame of reference. Almost impossible to make out in this web version, a small gull is flying high in the distance…

…as if it were leaving this world for a place beyond. Yet, on that night, I didn’t have to travel to the heavens because a glimpse of Heaven was, instead, being brought down to me.

"The World Above" - this was an evening sky that was not unrivaled in terms of color but in its intricacy of luminous detail

