Thanksgivings Flow

My day has been busy enough that this post won’t be going up until Thanksgiving Day is already over for almost all of you. Still, I wanted to include some response to one of my most favorite celebratory days. I truly enjoy having an entire day dedicated to considering and expressing my gratitude. It’s particularly fun to do it with close family and friends. This day was my daughter, Della’s very first Thanksgiving ever, which in itself makes my thanksgivings flow.

When scanning through my archives, I realized I have not recorded photographs on at least the last four Thanksgiving Days, which isn’t entirely surprising when you consider the state of Juneau this time of year. The once verdant forest has long since been dormant and waiting to hide under the cover of snow. Today, actually presented a quite beautiful morning, but light was fleeting and rare. I planned an image like this one from the outset of my trip because these falls say something about thanksgiving to me. The water falls in various quantities all year long; furiously during the snow melt of early summer and sparsely during the bitter cold of winter. But, like our thanksgivings should, it always flows through good times and bad.

I’m making it a goal to retain a mindset of gratitude beyond the end of this holiday. Thank You.

Thanksgivings Flow

