Company

This entry has been a long time in coming since the idea for it originated over the Christmas holidays, and we’re now pushing close to February. While family and friends were visiting, I was afforded multiple opportunities to enjoy the natural world in the company of others. They made me think about the contrasts between solo photographic endeavors and outings more tailored toward the strengthening of relationships than the creation of images. Still, it was the resulting photographs that kept this topic on my mind.

I believe it’s all too easy to glorify the lonely artist mentality, and honestly, I do the great majority of my work alone (especially my most satisfying work). Being isolated from other human influences allows for a deeper connection with everything else. For a “landscape” photographer, that connection is invaluable, but there’s something special about companionship in the outdoors. For one thing, not every day is destined to produce earth shattering photographs, but time spent with others is always valuable. I’m always commenting about this or the other thing that I appreciate about the day and the world while I’m walking with a companion. My dad and I found no shortage of things to marvel at as we walked across the frozen lake on a morning with single digit temps and far from extravagant light. On a daylight exhausting adventure half way out onto a snow buried glacier with my cousin and his wife, I probably wouldn’t have ever taken my camera out of its bag if it wasn’t for them. On a cloudless mid-day, I can’t think of anything I would desire over being outside anywhere with Breea and Della (my wife and seven month old daughter).

I guess partly I just want to say thank you to all the friends and family that have given me such great company over the years. The times we’ve spent together out in God’s glorious creation together have been some of the best of my life. And though it surely won’t be long before I’m back out on my own again with camera in tow, I’ll be looking forward to the next time I get to be there with you.

dadundertheface

sethclimb2

breeaanddellaonlake

