Personal Goal

I’m simultaneously proud and ashamed that two nights ago, I climbed to the summit of a mountain for the first time in over two years. At the beginning of the summer, I had hoped to reach multiple peaks before the return of school, but one is a start. The hikes are grueling 3-6 hour endeavors (round trip), so it’s not a major time commitment. Instead, the barrier for me is that my legs are so sore the next day that I can barely walk normally. Here is a view from the summit of Thunder Mountain, which to me is like a gateway into a vast wilderness. The trail-head is about a half mile from my house, and the front of the mountain faces Juneau’s major residential area, but you can see for yourself the drama of the landscape beyond Thunder. The moral of the story is don’t let a little sweat stop you; it’s worth it.

Behind Thunder #2

