See the Spectacle

As a photographer of natural beauty and God’s creation, I know that many times a camera can get in the way. It can interrupt the connection between my subject and myself. If that was the whole story, I suppose I would have given up on photography a long time ago. The other side to the coin is the way the camera has trained me to get absorbed in the moment, not to let a single situation slip by. Because I want to record meaningful places and times into creative photographs, I put myself into situations of high potential for spectacular sights and experiences. There’s a give and take between my camera and me, and in the end, I find myself on the receiving end more often than not.

 

"Sawyer Calving" - Sawyer Glacier in Tracy Arm does almost all the work to make this photograph a successful one

 

