See it Through

At first I was a bit disappointed that I recorded Corey’s jump into the glacial pool in still images instead of HD video. Even in the relatively bright sunlight, I didn’t use a shutter speed fast enough to stop motion as he gained speed in his descent. I did process a couple of early frames from the sequence, but they weren’t quite able to summarize the experience. There’s something about the splash of that icy blue water that culminates the crazy act. Finally, yesterday, I had the idea to create a composite. Photoshop’s “Auto Align” did a great job getting me lined up for the blend, and the blur in the images where Corey is approaching the water just aides in visualizing his increasing velocity.

"Jump Sequence" - as a math teacher, I can't help enjoying the parabolic curve of the leaping motion

