Visual Verses #1

A few weeks ago, I began a series of posts on Google+ that I’m titling Visual Verses. Not believing it was the right time to make it public there, the posts are going out to a very limited audience. I imagine that people who visit this journal know what to expect in terms of content, so even though many of the images will be repetitions of those previously shared, I decided to post the series here as well. The first installment follows…

“For by the grace given me I say to every one of you: Do not think of yourself more highly than you ought, but rather think of yourself with sober judgment, in accordance with the measure of faith God has given you.” – Romans 12:3

This verse was part of the r12 study that Breea and I have been doing on Sundays (actually Della has been there too). The point made in the material is that we should be so comfortable, even grateful, for the way God has made us that we feel free to think very little about ourselves at all. When we’re busy trying to cover up who we are underneath with a flashy exterior, it becomes practically impossible for us to reflect Christ in our lives.

As I stood on the edge of the turbulent Herbert River, I marveled at these two perfectly calm pools in the adjacent granite. Unlike the river, they were wonderfully transparent, showing fascinating patterns of rippled silt on their bottoms. At the same time, and from the right perspective, they provided a most accurate reflection of the softly colored sky.

I pray that you are letting God show you that who you really are is precisely who He made you to be. When you accept that, then you will be able to begin showing the world who he really is.

"Insight and Reflection"

