Getting Wishful Again

Refreeze

This is what I wish conditions were like at the moment. Instead puddles hide under snow on top of the permanent ice on the Mendenhall Lake, which is a combination that instills just about the least possible confidence in someone trying to travel over that ice. I’ve been avoiding working with this photo for a couple years because I thought I would need both focus and exposure blends to bring it to completion. I also wasn’t sure that the result would be something that justified the post-processing effort. Progress in RAW conversion software allowed me to bypass the exposure blending, so I started working. In this version of the image, I’ve done a minimal amount of preparation. If you have any feedback on how or whether this photo fits into my overall portfolio, I would be happy to hear from you.

