Blessings to Share

Common BlessingsWithin the whole glorious scene, I was transfixed by the way the warm light appeared to bring out intricate details in the dark rock of Mt Wrather’s distant cliffs. I stood over the edge of the lake savoring the beauty of the interaction, and the above photograph was created in the process. Mine is not only a blessing of surroundings; it is a blessing of requited longings. I don’t long to create so much as I long to see beauty. The act of photography is simply a way to praise the beauty of both the gift and the Giver. Even my appreciation of the light and shadow, patterns, and shapes around me is not of my own doing. As I said, it’s just as much a part of the blessings as the fact that the Mendenhall Valley is my home.

While I know, through years of experience, that God’s love for me is personal and intimate, I also know that the blessings I receive are not for my benefit alone. In researching how to communicate the purpose behind my passion for sharing what I see in the world, I came across notes on a sermon by John Piper about Psalm 67. In its first two verses, the psalmist prays:

“May God be merciful and bless us. May his face smile with favor on us. May your ways be known throughout the earth, your saving power among people everywhere.” (Psalm 67:1-2 NLT)

God blesses with the purpose that His saving power be known by people everywhere. It is both my obligation and my joy to be a part of spreading the news about the goodness of God. My photos reflect the natural world, but the greatness of God is not summarized by the grand scale of a river of ice or the permanence of mountains. Instead, golden-hour landscapes are only a hint at His worth and the great value of knowing Him. The summary actually happened “on a hill far away”, where Jesus Christ died to pay the price for our sinful selfishness and rejection of God. Through the sacrifice of Jesus, God was justified in overlooking our rebellion and bending our hearts toward Himself, that we might have faith in his infinite mercy.

That is the blessing toward which all other blessing point. My aim is to make enjoying and sharing that blessing the very reason I live.

