Postcard From the Denali Highway

No, I’m not actually on the Denali Highway at this very moment. I made this image earlier in the summer (before this summer turned into fall) while driving a several hundred mile loop from Anchorage into the interior of Alaska. It was my very first Denali Highway experience, and the bumpy dirt road through a grandiose landscape did not disappoint. Considering I scheduled my whirlwind drive so that I spent mid-day there, it’s clear that the Denali Highway wasn’t my photographic focus, but I still couldn’t help stopping the car more than a dozen times to document the parade of clouds dragging their dark shadows across the open tundra. I pray that I’ll make it back someday soon…and stay long enough to see some of those elusive Alaska Range peaks.

Abundant Wilderness

