Endless Intricacy

Standing in the middle of one of the most grandiose landscapes Juneau has to offer, I was trying to get my tripod to work upside down while I pointed my camera straight at the ground. Well…it wasn’t really ground in a strict sense. As we were traveling over the surface of the glacier a few weeks ago, Corey and I were thrilled (maybe a little surprised) to see that a thin layer of ice had formed over the pools of water filling some of the glacier’s crevasses. Even to date, I don’t think there have been any days where puddles froze around the valley, but…(surprise!) it’s colder up on the glacier. Not only was the novelty of the ice distracting me from the grand vistas, there were the fascinating shapes, the intense color, and the view into the depths below. The obvious factor of the extreme delicateness in ultra thin ice combined with the less obvious truth that a glacier is in a constant state of motion means that the film of freezing water shatters and reforms countless times as it thickens. Both geometric and organic shapes are abundant, and the photographic possibilities seem almost endless. Unfortunately, the time for making photographs is not endless, and sooner than I would have liked, we had to leave this highly temporal blue world behind.

I’m grateful that my first composition yielded a photo I’m pleased to share. It’s likely that no others laid eyes on this spectacle while it lasted, and it’s equally likely that I won’t witness this phenomenon again for many months or even years. I take the whole experience as reinforcing the importance of staying attuned to the details, not only to see them, but to experience a deep enjoyment in their endless intricacy.

Crevasse Ice Detail

