At The End

This is another photo from my most recent visit to the glacier. Between the photo in my last post and this one, I spent several hours trying (unsuccessfully) to make photos in the cave. I enjoy this image because I feel like it summarizes a lot of “endings”. Some you can see within the photograph itself, like the terminus of the glacier, the evening light, and the late-autumn browns on the mountainsides. The clouds were also performing a closing number. After clinging to the ridges and peaks all day, they were beginning the process of dissipating completely into the cool night sky. The visit was also probably the last I’ll make while the lake is ice free and snow has yet to blanket the landscape. Seeing the “endings” is a good reminder to look back and be thankful for all the blessings of a season. God has been so good to me, and the Mendenhall never lets me forget it.

At The End

