2013 Summary

As I prepared to post this collection of photographs as a reflection on the past year, I took a look at the summary I made at the end of 2012 and learned a couple things. First I realized that even though I loved investing careful thought into the descriptions of the events related to individual images last year, I just don’t have the time to accomplish that this time around. The second thing I noticed was that if I had spent some time trying to give a short synopsis of 2013, it would have turned out to be nearly identical to what I shared in last year’s post. There has been even less photography and even more joy in my life over the last twelve months than ever before. At times, I’ve been more active in writing this year, which has been a lot of fun. My photography – primarily because of the incredibly unique and beautiful subjects – has garnered considerably more attention in the past year, but I have been most blessed by God through the various pursuits that have kept me from spending time on making photographs – family, friends, and students. God has caused me to grow in my understanding of who He is for me and to grow in my joyful dependence on Him. For all these things, I am truly grateful!

I am confident in my hope that the blessings I have cherished in 2013 will continue to flourish in 2014, and I pray that, by the grace of God, the same will be true in your life.

“For I am convinced that neither death nor life, neither angels nor demons, neither the present nor the future, nor any powers, neither height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God that is in Christ Jesus our Lord.” – Romans 8:38-39 (NIV)

