Desert Delicacies

Nearly all of my visits to Joshua Tree National Park have been short and photographically one-dimensional. On one trip there were sweeping views of the granite boulders and monoliths, and on another it was the park’s namesake yuccas themselves that captured my attention. Earlier this year, I made it to JTNP on two separate occasions, but I only attempted to photograph the park during one of them. On that particular visit, I left my 50mm macro lens attached to the camera (obviously not for the first photo) as I focused almost exclusively on the less famous vegetation of the park. I searched for spots where the open shade of early morning beside the mounds of granite allowed the colors and textures to come to the forefront of each miniature landscape. The resulting images are not altogether groundbreaking, but I enjoyed the process of seeing and recording them, and I am very happy to share them here.

Joshua Tree NP, California - June 2015

Joshua Tree NP, California – June 2015

 

Joshua Tree NP, California - June 2015

Joshua Tree NP, California – June 2015

 

Joshua Tree NP, California - June 2015

Joshua Tree NP, California – June 2015

 

Joshua Tree NP, California - June 2015

Joshua Tree NP, California – June 2015

